Thursday, February 2, 2017

Celebrating innovation and industry leaders at the SNIC and FAME Awards

Chef Todd Erickson from Schwan's Chef Collective
presented an Innovation Solution Session at the
School Nutrition Industry Conference.
Feb. 2, 2017 — Our Schwan’s Food Service team had an excellent time at the recent School Nutrition Association’s annual School Nutrition Industry Conference (SNIC) and FAME Awards in Orlando, Florida.

At the conference, our team had the opportunity to meet with several industry partners, food-service operators and host an innovation session with Chef Todd Erickson from Schwan’s Chef Collective. And, at an associated event, the FAME Awards, our company was a co-sponsor.

“We had a ‘standing-room only’ group at our Innovation Solution Session, and we heard anecdotally that this was one of the best FAME Awards class of winners and reception to date,” said Monica Deming, category marketing manager for Schwan’s Food Service.

The School Nutrition Industry Conference brings together food-service operators and industry partners to celebrate food. At the conference, industry leaders can showcase their latest food offerings with operators and attendees can watch several demonstrations and presentations to elevate their industry knowledge. This year’s theme was “imagination + knowledge = INNOVATION.”

At the conference, Chef Todd presented an innovation session to attendees on how to meet the needs of the Gen Z population. Using Minh® low-sodium sauces, Chef Todd showed guests how to optimize their pantry full of USDA foods and create new recipes to meet increasing demand from the Gen Z group.

FAME Awards

We also want to take this opportunity to congratulate everyone recognized at The FAME Awards. It was an excellent tribute to school nutrition professionals who have shown outstanding performance in management and innovation.

At this year’s event, three of the individuals nominated by our Schwan’s Food Service team were recognized. They include:

  • Betti Wiggins from Detroit Public Schools, who won the Golden School Food-Service Director of the Year Award.
  • Daniel Ellnor from Jefferson County Public Schools in Kentucky, who won the Silver Spirit Award.
  • Gay Anderson from Brandon Valley School District in South Dakota, who won the Silver Special Achievement Award.

Popular Posts